Decluttering: Please Release Me, Let Me Go

I have had a de-cluttering project in process off and on for two years and I’ve decided that it’s time to complete this project and bring relatively quick closure.  Yep, it’s time to run my closets and drawers, furniture drawers that is, like an efficient business.

Admittedly, I am a clotheshorse and my husband says that I am close to the Imelda Marcos of shoe world as far as the number pair of shoes that I own.  Of course, that’s an exaggeration.  I recall reading a magazine article that said Imelda owned 1,200 shoes in 1986.  And where would I put all those shoes even if I wanted that many?

Fortunately from a financial standpoint, I am a thrifty and frugal shopper.  Unfortunately, I have had clothing that I wanted to wear and couldn’t found and found clothing that I didn’t know I even had and don’t even recall buying, clothing two sizes too big, and identical pieces of clothing due to information overload or at least that’s my excuse and I’m sticking to it.

I am comforted by the fact that our garage has room to park two vehicles unlike the garages of many of our neighbors.  But in all fairness, they may be able to open their closet doors without fear of something falling on their heads. 

 So early evening, I started going through our downstairs closets.  Happily, I found some clothing that I had been unable to locate and I found new to me clothing that I forgot that I had.  I found two outfits that I will pay to get altered.  And everything else is now piled up in the back seat of my car and will be dropped at Goodwill tomorrow.  Now keep in mind that these are only the downstairs closets, but that’s a good start, I think.

I have a lot more to do, but I’m going to set aside time every day until I complete this project.  I already feel some weight lifted off of my shoulders.  And I now know what is in the downstairs closets.  That’s a good feeling.

I’m already singing the song, “Please Release Me, Let Me Go,” from the departing stuff’s point of view, of course.

About Susan M. Ayers

I am the Owner/Writer at Susan M. Ayers/Creative Writer With Flair. My business is based in Roanoke, VA. My main interest is to partner with you to meet your writing needs. Your satisfaction is 100 percent guaranteed! The services that I offer include writing articles and blogs on a wide array of topics and business writing including press releases and white papers. Contact me today to discuss your writing needs. You will be glad that you did!
This entry was posted in Decluttering. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Decluttering: Please Release Me, Let Me Go

  1. Dan Smith says:

    Susan:

    One philosophical note that could free you: If you don’t know you have it, you don’t need it.

    Dan Smith

  2. When in doubt, throw it out. If you bring something into the house, something has to come out. And my favorite… on your birthday, whatever age you are (you don’t have to tell!) remove that many items from your home. I find as I get older, I’m less about the stuff and more about the experiences. I’d rather enjoy a dinner with friends or travel then another pair of shoes (well, most of the time!).

Leave a comment